Alex London Guardian (Proxy)

(2)

Lovelybooks Bewertung

  • 1 Bibliotheken
  • 1 Follower
  • 0 Leser
  • 1 Rezensionen
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)

Inhaltsangabe zu „Guardian (Proxy)“ von Alex London

The pulse-pounding sequel to Proxy! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. In the new world led by the Rebooters, former Proxy Syd is the figurehead of the Revolution, beloved by some and hated by others. Liam, a seventeen-year-old Rebooter, is Syd’s bodyguard and must protect him with his life. But armed Machinists aren’t the only danger. People are falling ill—their veins show through their skin, they find it hard to speak, and sores erupt all over their bodies. Guardians, the violent enforcers of the old system, are hit first, and the government does nothing to help. The old elites fall next, and in the face of an indifferent government, Syd decides it’s up to him to find a cure . . . and what he discovers leaves him stunned. This heart-stopping thriller is packed with action, adventure, and heroics. Guardian will leave you breathless until the final page. A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's Maze Runner, Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story. Praise for PROXY "Put down what you're doing and read this book. Right now. The complex characters, intricate world, and blistering pace are off-the-charts amazing. I fell in love with this story from the first sentence to the final, epic page. London is a force to be reckoned with." —Marie Lu, author of the Legend trilogy "Alex London is one of the most multi-dimensional writers out there. Proxy blew me away. It's deep, thrilling, thought-provoking, and at times simultaneously maddening and uplifting. I need to have more of Syd and Knox. Proxy is one stunning read!" —Andrew Smith, author of Winger and Grasshopper Jungle Praise for GUARDIAN "Corrupt powers, budding romance, an epidemic and grisly action synthesize to sate sci-fi fans."--Kirkus Reviews "Nonstop action and breakneck pace characterize this exceptional thriller. London provides his audience with an intricate plot, enriched by fine world-building and believable characters....This thought-provoking and breathtaking novel belongs in all collections serving young adults."--VOYA
  • Rezensionen
  • Leserunden
  • Buchverlosungen
  • Themen
  • „It’ll get worse before it gets better“ (S. 338)

    Guardian (Proxy)

    Tallianna

    07. February 2015 um 13:16

    Syd und Knox haben das alte System zu Fall gebracht; alle Schulden sind gelöscht worden. Diesen Umbruch hat Knox mit seinem Leben bezahlt, doch Syd wird als Heilsbringer verehrt. Schnell erkennt Syd, dass das neue System nicht viel besser als das alte ist. Dann taucht eine schreckliche Krankheit auf, die die neue Regierung offensichtlich nicht behandeln möchte. Sie bedroht alle, auch Syd selbst und die einzige Rettung scheint eine Maschine zu sein, die das Netzwerk wieder zurückbringt… Londons Schreibstil begeistert mich nach wie vor. Verständnisprobleme waren nicht vorhanden. Syds ringen mit sich und dem neuen System wird sehr glaubhaft und nachvollziehbar dargestellt. Immerhin darf man nicht vergessen, welch psychischem Druck er ausgesetzt wird und ist. In ganz zarten Tönen werden die Gefühle zwischen Syd und Liam angedeutet, niemals zu aufdringlich, aber doch spürbar. Schließlich sind diese auch der Schlüsselmotivator für Liam, um Syd zu beschützen, und sich gegen alles zu wenden, an das er glaubt. Doch erdrückt diese Romanze nie die Story. Das Ende macht definitiv Lust auf einen dritten Teil, allerdings ist mir nicht bekannt, ob es einen weiteren Teil geben soll. „Guardian“ ist eine Geschichte vom Drang nach Freiheit und vom Versagen, etwas Besseres aufzubauen als die Generation davor. Es ist eine Geschichte von Pflicht und Aufopferung, aber auch davon, dass man Dinge besser machen kann, wenn man nicht aufgibt.

    Mehr
  • Was ist LovelyBooks?

    Über Bücher redet man gerne, empfiehlt sie seinen Freunden und Bekannten oder kritisiert sie, wenn sie einem nicht gefallen haben. LovelyBooks ist der Ort im Internet, an dem all das möglich ist - die Heimat für Buchliebhaber und Lesebegeisterte. Schön, dass du hier bist! Mehr Infos

    Buchliebe für dein Mailpostfach!

    Hol dir mehr von LovelyBooks