Alice Chetwynd Ley Letters For A Spy

(1)

Lovelybooks Bewertung

  • 1 Bibliotheken
  • 0 Follower
  • 0 Leser
  • 1 Rezensionen
(0)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(0)

Inhaltsangabe zu „Letters For A Spy“ von Alice Chetwynd Ley

Elizabeth Thorne has finally seized the opportunity to assert her independence…. When she set out from crowded London to visit Crowle Manor, the Sussex house bequeathed to her by her uncle, Elizabeth could not be more delighted by the prospect of a quiet spell in the country. But on her way, she soon discovers that Crowle Manor may not be the quiet destination she had in mind… Waking to discover a strange letter addressed to the manor house has been slipped into her guide book, she cannot help but wonder who put it there…and why? As her suspicions deepen, Elizabeth finds herself reacquainted with her former lover, Robert Farnham, a man that she had once refused to marry out of loyalty to her sister. How is he mixed up in this bizarre affair? And how is it he now seems to hardly recognise her? As the mysteries surrounding her and Crowle Manor grow more and more intense, Elizabeth starts to realise her plans for a quiet country summer are unlikely to be fulfilled. But her hopes of being with the man she still loves may yet still come true… Letters for a Spy is an intriguing historical romance from a master story-teller, perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer and Jane Aiken Hodge. Praise for Alice Chetwynd Ley 'A romantic page-turner from a master story-teller'. - Robert Foster, best-selling author of The Lunar Code. Alice Chetwynd Ley (1913 - 2004) was a British writer of romance novels. She was the sixth elected Chairman (1971–1973) of the Romantic Novelists' Association and was named honour life member. Her other titles include The Georgian Rake and The Jewelled Snuff Box.
  • Rezensionen
  • Leserunden
  • Buchverlosungen
  • Themen
  • Intriguing story

    Letters For A Spy
    IraWira

    IraWira

    25. September 2016 um 22:32

    "Letters for a Spy" is a really nice book that kept me well entertained. It is not one of those books that you can't put down and that are highly addictive but it is one of those books that are like the familiar cup of tea on a winter's eve after a glass of champaign at the party the day before. You know what you want, you get what you want and you enjoy every page of it. Reliable, sweet but nevertheless never dull or boring. The story is well written and the characters are also well developed which draws the reader in and lets him take part in the happenings. I enjoyed to see Elizabeth find her happiness even though - well, who am I to doubt the magic of true love and how fast it works, so... I am just happy to find Elizabeth well settled at the end of the book with someone I can whole-heartedly approve of. If you want to read the book because you like a good spy story, well, then I'm not sure if it is really the right story for you because the focus is definitely not on espionage, this is just a part of the story. Oh, actually there's not much romance in it at the beginning either but it is a fast-paced and interesting story that is really nice and I enjoyed reading it. It is not the first book by Alice Chetwynd Ley that I've read and it won't be the last. Like a cup of tea, this book is something nice to read on a cozy winter's eve - or in the afternoon or  - whenever you like!

    Mehr