The Georgian Rake

von Alice Chetwynd Ley 
4,0 Sterne bei1 Bewertungen
The Georgian Rake
Bestellen bei:

Zu diesem Buch gibt es noch keine Kurzmeinung. Hilf anderen Lesern, in dem du das Buch bewertest und eine Kurzmeinung oder Rezension veröffentlichst.

Auf der Suche nach deinem neuen Lieblingsbuch? Melde dich bei LovelyBooks an, entdecke neuen Lesestoff und aufregende Buchaktionen.

Inhaltsangabe zu "The Georgian Rake"

Two sister’s embark on journey, along a path they had not imagined. The younger of the sisters, Amanda is rebellious and tempestuous in nature with a daring charm, she will stop at nothing once her interests are sparked; both to her success and detriment. Whilst Isabella forgets what it is to be young; only blinded by decorum, duty and outright stubbornness. When Amanda learns that her sister is to marry Charles Barsett, she is horrified — having had first-hand evidence that he was a rake, with a reputation that was positively dangerous. Such a marriage is unthinkable; though Isabella has had her head completely turned by Charles's title and wealth, regardless of her true feelings. Amanda is determined to prevent this marriage to a man so unworthy of her sister… she will go to any lengths… stop at nothing… break into his home… enlist others to scheme against him… or even wed the Georgian Rake herself… ‘The Georgian Rake’ is an intriguing regency romance, perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer and Jane Aiken Hodge. Alice Chetwynd Ley (1913 - 2004) was a British writer of romance novels. She was the sixth elected Chairman (1971–1973) of the Romantic Novelists' Association and was named honour life member. Her other titles include ‘The Guinea Stamp’ and ‘The Jewelled Snuff Box’. Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher. For more information on our titles please sign up to our newsletter at www.endeavourpress.com. Each week you will receive updates on free and discounted ebooks. Follow us on Twitter: @EndeavourPress and on Facebook via http://on.fb.me/1HweQV7. We are always interested in hearing from our readers. Endeavour Press believes that the future is now.

Buchdetails

Aktuelle Ausgabe
ISBN:B0127TD4KY
Sprache:Englisch
Ausgabe:E-Buch Text
Umfang:224 Seiten
Verlag:Endeavour Press
Erscheinungsdatum:20.07.2015

Rezensionen und Bewertungen

Neu
4 Sterne
Filtern:
  • 5 Sterne0
  • 4 Sterne1
  • 3 Sterne0
  • 2 Sterne0
  • 1 Stern0
  • Sortieren:
    IraWiras avatar
    IraWiravor 2 Jahren
    fast-paced and sweet

    This is not the first book by Alice Chetwynd Ley that I've read so I already knew that I lke her books. Whereas I compared her book "Letters of a Spy" to a nice reliable cup of tea, "The Georgian Rake" has much more of the champaign in it that I compared the cup of tea to. This book kept me glued to the reader and I enjoyed every single page of it.
    I loved the well developed, authentic and intersting characters and I loved the story itself. It is a fast-paced story, well plotted and really well written that made me "turn" the pages impatiently because I just had to know what would happen!
    As for the story, well, I was a bit irritated when I read the blurb because I found that it was a bit different than the story that I read but nevertheless, I really loved this story.
    When Isabell is coerced by her mother to agree to a profitable marriage with a known rake she has to give up all hope to marry the one who she has been in love with forever. Her sister Amanda though is no one to sit by idly while her beloved sister makes such a monumentous mistake and sets out to set things right. Amanda being Amanda, loving, charming, straight-forward and utterly reckless, some of her actions might be considered dangerous...at least. Fortunately there's no lack of knight's in shining armour to come to her rescue and very soon it is not just her safety that is at stake but also her heart....
    I really loved this book and can definitely recommend it!

    Kommentieren0
    4
    Teilen

    Gespräche aus der Community zum Buch

    Neu

    Starte mit "Neu" die erste Leserunde, Buchverlosung oder das erste Thema.

    Was ist LovelyBooks?

    Über Bücher redet man gerne, empfiehlt sie seinen Freunden und Bekannten oder kritisiert sie, wenn sie einem nicht gefallen haben. LovelyBooks ist der Ort im Internet, an dem all das möglich ist - die Heimat für Buchliebhaber und Lesebegeisterte. Schön, dass du hier bist!

    Mehr Infos

    Buchliebe für dein Mailpostfach

    Hol dir mehr von LovelyBooks