The Visitors: A Dark and Chilling Suspense

von Catherine Burns 
2,0 Sterne bei1 Bewertungen
The Visitors: A Dark and Chilling Suspense
Bestellen bei:

Zu diesem Buch gibt es noch keine Kurzmeinung. Hilf anderen Lesern, in dem du das Buch bewertest und eine Kurzmeinung oder Rezension veröffentlichst.

Auf der Suche nach deinem neuen Lieblingsbuch? Melde dich bei LovelyBooks an, entdecke neuen Lesestoff und aufregende Buchaktionen.

Inhaltsangabe zu "The Visitors: A Dark and Chilling Suspense"

‘Once you start Catherine Burns’s dark, disturbing, and enthralling debut novel, it’s hard to stop. The Visitors is bizarrely unsettling, yet compulsively readable.’ Iain Reid, Internationally Bestselling Author of I’m Thinking of Ending Things

Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware.

Marion Zetland lives with her domineering older brother, John in a decaying Georgian townhouse on the edge of a northern seaside resort. A timid spinster in her fifties who still sleeps with teddy bears, Marion does her best to shut out the shocking secret that John keeps in the cellar.

Until, suddenly, John has a heart attack and Marion is forced to go down to the cellar herself and face the gruesome truth that her brother has kept hidden.

As questions are asked and secrets unravel, maybe John isn't the only one with a dark side.

Buchdetails

Aktuelle Ausgabe
ISBN:9781785079160
Sprache:Englisch
Ausgabe:E-Buch Text
Umfang:304 Seiten
Verlag:Legend Press
Erscheinungsdatum:03.10.2017

Rezensionen und Bewertungen

Neu
2 Sterne
Filtern:
  • 5 Sterne0
  • 4 Sterne0
  • 3 Sterne0
  • 2 Sterne1
  • 1 Stern0
  • Sortieren:
    M
    misspidervor 7 Monaten
    Disturbing but not compelling

    The book started out fine, but then it dragged along for quite some time without adding anything essential. We follow colorless spinster Marion, who lives with her brother John and leads the most unremarkable life I've ever read about. Okay, her creepy brother keeps some 'Visitors' in the cellar, but that's about him, isn't it? Marion just drags through her days watching TV, eating and sleeping. She's always dreaming about a better, more interesting life but never doing anything about it. And that's her big problem: she never acts, only barely reacts and everything happening out of order is a nuisance and strain. Only when her brother has to stay in hospital for a longer period of time, she is forced to take some action, whether she likes to or not. About three quarters of the book deal with the daily life of Marion, including flashbacks to her past, which is as uneventful as it can get. Even the small episodes where her brother's secret surfaces to her consciousness or threatens to be uncovered do not alter the slow and steady flow of the story. While this serves perfectly to describe Marion's character, at the same time it turns this story into a very uninspiring read.

    There was not a single likeable character in this book, maybe apart from Marion's aunt who is only mentioned as a background actor but as it turns out had great influence on her. During the middle of the book I was repeatedly tempted to give up out of boredom. Even the ending where John's horrible secret is finally laid open in all its horror was too predictable to surprise. Only Marion's transformation came unexpected and finally breathed some life into the story. This was an OK read but not a pleasant one.

    (Thanks to Netgalley, the author, and the publisher for a copy of the book, all opinions are my own)

    Kommentieren0
    0
    Teilen

    Gespräche aus der Community zum Buch

    Neu

    Starte mit "Neu" die erste Leserunde, Buchverlosung oder das erste Thema.

    Was ist LovelyBooks?

    Über Bücher redet man gerne, empfiehlt sie seinen Freunden und Bekannten oder kritisiert sie, wenn sie einem nicht gefallen haben. LovelyBooks ist der Ort im Internet, an dem all das möglich ist - die Heimat für Buchliebhaber und Lesebegeisterte. Schön, dass du hier bist!

    Mehr Infos

    Buchliebe für dein Mailpostfach

    Hol dir mehr von LovelyBooks