Cora Harrison Debutantes

(1)

Lovelybooks Bewertung

  • 1 Bibliotheken
  • 0 Follower
  • 0 Leser
  • 1 Rezensionen
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)

Inhaltsangabe zu „Debutantes“ von Cora Harrison

A gorgeous historical romance, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. Its 1923 and London is a whirl of jazz, dancing and parties. Violet, Daisy, Poppy and Rose Derrington are desperate to be part of it, but stuck in an enormous crumbling house in the country, with no money and no fashionable dresses, the excitement seems a lifetime away. Luckily the girls each have a plan for escaping their humdrum country life: Rose wants to be a novelist, Poppy a jazz musician and Daisy a famous film director. Violet, however, has only one ambition: to become the perfect Debutante, so that she can go to London and catch the eye of Prince George, the most eligible bachelor in the country. But a house as big and old as Beech Grove Manor hides many secrets, and Daisy is about to uncover one so huge it could ruin all their plans - ruin everything - forever.

Lovely Story - totally had to read the sequel immediately :)

— I-heart-books

Stöbern in Kinderbücher

Petronella Apfelmus

Ein spannendes Herbst-Abenteuer, das wie immer Lust auf mehr macht. Wir lieben die kleine Apfelhexe und ihre Freunde.

MartinaSuhr

Auf die Piste, fertig, los!

Ein wundervolles Kinderbuch mit einer wichtigen Botschaft, welches mir, mit jeder neuen Seite, ein Lächeln aufs Gesicht gezaubert hat.

NickyMohini

Ich bin der Fidel!

Eine wichtige Botschaft, die den Grundstein sozialen Verhaltens legt. Jedes Lebewesen verdient Respekt!

kris_tina

Henry Smart. Im Auftrag des Götterchefs

Spannend, smart, unterhaltsam

Melli910

Das wilde Uff jagt einen Schatz

Erneut eine Geschichte voller Spaß, Chaos und Überraschungen. Wir lieben das UFF!

BookHook

Nacht über Frost Hollow Hall

Bei der Altersempfehlung gerne zwei Jahre drauf, ansonsten ein gutes, teilweise recht gruseliges Debüt mit kleinen Längen und Kanten.

lex-books

  • Rezensionen
  • Leserunden
  • Buchverlosungen
  • Themen
  • Honestly? The ...

    Debutantes

    I-heart-books

    01. April 2016 um 09:03

    ... cover just fascinated me when I saw it. Not as if I am just checking out covers, but be honest, it looks amazing. I found the book as I was checking out if the author wrote a new one. The book about Jane Austen's 'best friend' was great. So I thought why not? I bought it, stappeled it on my SUB and forgot about it.. *shame on me* Working on my staple I rediscovered it and when I started it, I just read it through. A lovely story in a historical setting. Totally a new epoche I read about it, but I did like how the main characters change within it and how different they are. Absolutely recommendable! Content: It's 1923 and London is a whirl of jazz, dancing and parties. Violet, Daisy, Poppy and Rose Derrington are desperate to be part of it, but stuck in an enormous crumbling house in the country, with no money and no fashionable dresses, the excitement seems a lifetime away. Luckily the girls each have a plan for escaping their humdrum country life: Rose wants to be a novelist, Poppy a jazz musician and Daisy a famous film director. Violet, however, has only one ambition: to become the perfect Debutante, so that she can go to London and catch the eye of Prince George, the most eligible bachelor in the country. But a house as big and old as Beech Grove Manor hides many secrets, and Daisy is about to uncover one so huge it could ruin all their plans - ruin everything - forever.

    Mehr
  • Was ist LovelyBooks?

    Über Bücher redet man gerne, empfiehlt sie seinen Freunden und Bekannten oder kritisiert sie, wenn sie einem nicht gefallen haben. LovelyBooks ist der Ort im Internet, an dem all das möglich ist - die Heimat für Buchliebhaber und Lesebegeisterte. Schön, dass du hier bist! Mehr Infos

    Buchliebe für dein Mailpostfach!

    Hol dir mehr von LovelyBooks