Cloud Atlas. Der Wolkenatlas, englische Ausgabe

von David Mitchell 
4,3 Sterne bei55 Bewertungen
Cloud Atlas. Der Wolkenatlas, englische Ausgabe
Bestellen bei:

Neue Kurzmeinungen

Positiv (45):
leiraselenes avatar

just absolutely mesmerizing! great characters and capturing story

Kritisch (3):
ichundelaines avatar

Pretentious Bullshit! Wasn't able to captivate me.

Alle 55 Bewertungen lesen

Inhaltsangabe zu "Cloud Atlas. Der Wolkenatlas, englische Ausgabe"

Newly added to the Modern Library, this edition makes Cloud Atlas available in hardcover for the very first time. A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.§§Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.§§But the story doesn¿t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.§§As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

Buchdetails

Aktuelle Ausgabe
ISBN:9780812994711
Sprache:Englisch
Ausgabe:Fester Einband
Umfang:528 Seiten
Verlag:Random House US
Erscheinungsdatum:30.11.2012

Rezensionen und Bewertungen

Neu
4,3 Sterne
Filtern:
  • 5 Sterne30
  • 4 Sterne15
  • 3 Sterne7
  • 2 Sterne1
  • 1 Stern2
  • Sortieren:

    Ähnliche Bücher für noch mehr Lesestunden

    Gespräche aus der Community zum Buch

    Neu

    Starte mit "Neu" die erste Leserunde, Buchverlosung oder das erste Thema.

    Stöbern in Romane

    Vorfreude! So freuen sich unsere Leser auf das Buch

    Was ist LovelyBooks?

    Über Bücher redet man gerne, empfiehlt sie seinen Freunden und Bekannten oder kritisiert sie, wenn sie einem nicht gefallen haben. LovelyBooks ist der Ort im Internet, an dem all das möglich ist - die Heimat für Buchliebhaber und Lesebegeisterte. Schön, dass du hier bist!

    Mehr Infos

    Buchliebe für dein Mailpostfach

    Hol dir mehr von LovelyBooks