Elizabeth Fremantle Watch the Lady

(1)

Lovelybooks Bewertung

  • 2 Bibliotheken
  • 0 Follower
  • 0 Leser
  • 1 Rezensionen
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)

Inhaltsangabe zu „Watch the Lady“ von Elizabeth Fremantle

THE QUEEN'S GODDAUGHTER. HER MOST TRUSTED MAID. ADULTRESS. ENEMY OF THE STATE. WHO IS THE REAL PENELOPE DEVEREUX? Penelope Devereux is a legendary beauty in the court of Elizabeth I, with a smile that would light up the shadows of hell. But it's not just her looks which have won her favour with the Queen wing; her canny instinct for being in the right place at the right time, and her skilled political manoeuvrings under the guise of diplomacy, have rendered her a formidable adversary to anyone who stands in her path. Including Elizabeth. For Penelope must secure the future of the Devereux dynasty at whatever cost. Even treason. And the Queen, a woman she holds responsible for the death of her father, the exile of her mother and her failure to marry the one man she ever truly loved, is just one more pawn in a deadly game. Walking the knife-edge of court, whilst ensuring that her reckless brother Essex remains the only star in the Queen's firmament - and out of the Tower - Penelope must plan for the inevitable succession of an ailing monarch. But her secret letters of friendship to a foreign King - one who has a strong claim to the English throne - could see her illustrious family in the gutter and her own head on the block. It would only take a single mistake, a slip of the tongue, an intercepted message for Penelope to become the architect of her downfall. In a world where sister is turned against brother, husband against wife, courtier against queen, the rules of the game are forever changing. Discover the truth in Elizabeth Fremantle's stunning new novel about an extraordinary woman who helped change the course of England's history forever. This sumptuous historical drama is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Hilary Mantel and Jessie Burton. Praise for Watch the Lady: "The research and historical detail are impeccable ...and fans will enjoy this evocation of Elizabeth's tumultuous court". (Times). "A glamourous tale peopled by warrior poets, flamboyant courtie
  • Rezensionen
  • Leserunden
  • Buchverlosungen
  • Themen
  • Zum Glück habe ich mich nicht vom Cover abschrecken lassen.

    Watch the Lady
    suse9

    suse9

    03. January 2017 um 11:02

    „Ach herrje, schon wieder eine dieser Liebesschnulzen, die sich unter dem Tarnumhang eines historischen Romans in mein Bücherregal schleichen wollen.“ so dachte ich, als ich „Watch The Lady“ geschenkt bekam. Schon lange gehört der historische Roman nicht mehr zu meinen Lieblingsgenres, da er sich abgewetzt hat und ich starke Frauen in Männerkleidern, die am Ende doch ihren Prinzen auf dem weißen Pferd bekommen, nicht mehr ertragen kann. Verkauft sich gut, ich weiß, aber mich langweilen derartige Geschichten. Da ich jedoch gerne englischsprachige Bücher lese und dieses nun einmal bei mir herumstand, schaute ich hinein und wurde angenehm überrascht. Lady Rich gab es wirklich und sie muss eine beeindruckende Persönlichkeit gewesen sein. Als Hofdame Elisabeth I lenkte sie die Geschicke ihrer Familie durch das Fahrwasser von Intrigen. Dabei versuchte sie nicht unterzugehen und die Devereux zu schützen. Das Buch begleitet Lady Rich von frühster Jugend bis ins hohe Alter von Mitte 40. Dabei verwebt die Autorin historische Fakten mit fiktiven Gefühlen. Diese Mischung gefällt mir sehr. Elizabeth Fremantle hat einen angenehm leichten Schreibstil, der zwar keine großen Anforderungen an den Leser stellt, aber neben Unterhaltung genug Spannung bietet, so dass die Lektüre nie langweilig oder öde wird. Sie bot mir ein paar angenehme Lesestunden, in denen ich nebenbei noch ein wenig über Queen Elizabeth lernen durfte.

    Mehr