The Book of Speculation: A Novel

3,0 Sterne bei1 Bewertungen

Cover des Buches The Book of Speculation: A Novel (ISBN: 9781250055637)
Bestellen bei:

Neue Kurzmeinungen

Ein LovelyBooks-Nutzer
vor 4 Jahren

Gemütlicher Spannungsbogen, ein Fünkchen Magie und durchaus sympathische Charaktere.

Alle 1 Bewertungen lesen

Auf der Suche nach deinem neuen Lieblingsbuch? Melde dich bei LovelyBooks an, entdecke neuen Lesestoff und aufregende Buchaktionen.

Inhaltsangabe zu "The Book of Speculation: A Novel"

One of BuzzFeed's 24 Best Fiction Books of 2015 **Includes a bonus short story by Erika Swyler, "The Mermaid Girl"** "As Simon, a lonely research librarian, searches frantically for the key to a curse that might be killing the women in his family, he learns strange and fascinating secrets about their past. A tale full of magic and family mystery, The Book of Speculation will keep you up all night reading."―Isaac Fitzgerald, BuzzFeed Simon Watson, a young librarian, lives alone in a house that is slowly crumbling toward the Long Island Sound. His parents are long dead. His mother, a circus mermaid who made her living by holding her breath, drowned in the very water his house overlooks. His younger sister, Enola, ran off six years ago and now reads tarot cards for a traveling carnival. One June day, an old book arrives on Simon's doorstep, sent by an antiquarian bookseller who purchased it on speculation. Fragile and water damaged, the book is a log from the owner of a traveling carnival in the 1700s, who reports strange and magical things, including the drowning death of a circus mermaid. Since then, generations of "mermaids" in Simon's family have drowned--always on July 24, which is only weeks away. As his friend Alice looks on with alarm, Simon becomes increasingly worried about his sister. Could there be a curse on Simon's family? What does it have to do with the book, and can he get to the heart of the mystery in time to save Enola? In the tradition of Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Elizabeth Kostova's The Historian, The Book of Speculation--with two-color illustrations by the author--is Erika Swyler's moving debut novel about the power of books, family, and magic.

Buchdetails

Aktuelle Ausgabe
ISBN:9781250055637
Sprache:Englisch
Ausgabe:Flexibler Einband
Umfang:384 Seiten
Verlag:St. Martin's Griffin
Erscheinungsdatum:31.05.2016

Rezensionen und Bewertungen

3 Sterne
Filtern:
  • 5 Sterne0
  • 4 Sterne0
  • 3 Sterne1
  • 2 Sterne0
  • 1 Stern0
  • Sortieren:

    Gespräche aus der Community zum Buch

    Starte mit "Neu" die erste Leserunde, Buchverlosung oder das erste Thema.

    Buchdetails

    Aktuelle Ausgabe
    ISBN:9781250055637
    Sprache:Englisch
    Ausgabe:Flexibler Einband
    Umfang:384 Seiten
    Verlag:St. Martin's Griffin
    Erscheinungsdatum:31.05.2016

    Community-Statistik

    Was ist LovelyBooks?

    Über Bücher redet man gerne, empfiehlt sie seinen Freunden und Bekannten oder kritisiert sie, wenn sie einem nicht gefallen haben. LovelyBooks ist der Ort im Internet, an dem all das möglich ist - die Heimat für Buchliebhaber und Lesebegeisterte. Schön, dass du hier bist!

    Mehr Infos

    Hol dir mehr von LovelyBooks