Jessica Fellowes The Mitford Murders: Curl up with the must-read mystery of the year

(1)

Lovelybooks Bewertung

  • 0 Bibliotheken
  • 0 Follower
  • 0 Leser
  • 1 Rezensionen
(0)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(0)

Inhaltsangabe zu „The Mitford Murders: Curl up with the must-read mystery of the year“ von Jessica Fellowes

'Exactly the sort of book you might enjoy with the fire blazing, the snow falling. The solution is neat and the writing always enjoyable'
Anthony Horowitz

Lose yourself in the sumptuous first novel in a new series of Golden Age mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters.

It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle.

Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nurserymaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially sixteen-year-old Nancy - an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories.

But when a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, Nancy and amateur sleuth Louisa find that in postwar England, everyone has something to hide . . .

Written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one-bestselling Downton Abbey books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, Anthony Howoritz and Agatha Christie - and is based on a real unsolved crime.

'True and glorious indulgence. A dazzling example of a Golden Age mystery'
Daisy Goodwin

'Oh how delicious! This terrific start to what promises to be a must-read series is exactly what we all need in these gloomy times.? Inventive, glittering, clever, ingenious. I devoured The Mitford Murders... so will you. Give it to absolutely everyone for Christmas, then pre-order the next one'
Susan Hill

'All the blissful escapism of a Sunday-night period drama in a book'
The Pool
  • Rezensionen
  • Leserunden
  • Buchverlosungen
  • Themen
  • Enttäuschend

    The Mitford Murders: Curl up with the must-read mystery of the year

    Ingrid_Davis

    13. January 2018 um 13:17

    Erstmal bin ich auf einen Marketingtrick hereingefallen - es stand auf dem Cover "International Bestseller", weshalb ich dachte, das bezöge sich auf das Buch. Stellte sich aber heraus, die Bestseller waren andere Bücher der Autorin, nämlich die Begleitbücher zur TV-Serie Downton Abbey (die wiederum vom vom Vater der Autorin geschrieben wurde).Das Buch hat auch ein bisschen was von Downton Abbey, reicht aber bei Weitem nicht daran heran, und ist letztlich nur ein müder Abklatsch. Der Kriminalfall, den es tatsächlich gegeben hat (und der wohl nie gelöst wurde), beginnt vielversprechend, ist am Ende aber unglaublich langweilig und langatmig. Hier wurde etwas auf ein Buch ausgedehnt, was man besser auf 40 Seiten erzählt hätte,Das Buch ist (noch) nicht auf Deutsch erschienen, aber da man sowieso nichts verpasst, macht das auch nichts.Schade ums Geld!

    Mehr
  • Was ist LovelyBooks?

    Über Bücher redet man gerne, empfiehlt sie seinen Freunden und Bekannten oder kritisiert sie, wenn sie einem nicht gefallen haben. LovelyBooks ist der Ort im Internet, an dem all das möglich ist - die Heimat für Buchliebhaber und Lesebegeisterte. Schön, dass du hier bist! Mehr Infos

    Buchliebe für dein Mailpostfach!

    Hol dir mehr von LovelyBooks

    Mit der Verwendung von LovelyBooks erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir und unsere Partner Cookies zu Zwecken wie der Personalisierung von Inhalten und für Werbung einsetzen.