Lesley Allen The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir

(1)

Lovelybooks Bewertung

  • 1 Bibliotheken
  • 0 Follower
  • 0 Leser
  • 1 Rezensionen
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)

Inhaltsangabe zu „The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir“ von Lesley Allen

A stark but uplifting story of bullying and redemption 'If you're a bit of a weirdo you will love Biddy Weir' - Ian Sansom, bestselling author of The Norfolk Mystery Almost too terrified to grip the phone, Biddy Weir calls a daytime television show. The subject is bullying, and Biddy has a story to tell. Abandoned by her mother as a baby, Biddy lives in her own little world, happy to pass her time watching the birds - until Alison Fleming joins her school. Popular and beautiful, but with a dangerous, malevolent streak, Alison quickly secures the admiration of her fellow students. All except one. And Alison doesn't take kindly to people who don't fit her mould . . . A story of abuse and survival, of falling down and of starting again, and of one woman's battle to learn to love herself for who she is, The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is Lesley Allen's startlingly honest debut novel, perfect for fans of Rowan Coleman and Julie Cohen.
  • Rezensionen
  • Leserunden
  • Buchverlosungen
  • Themen
  • Lesley Allen - The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir

    The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir

    miss_mesmerized

    13. April 2016 um 06:19

    Biddy lives alone with her father, both hardly have any contact to other people and since her mom ran away form a close couple. With no female around her, Biddy has no access to the life of girls and women and therefore already in primary school becomes an outsider. When Alison turns up in school and finds the perfect victim in her, years of bullying start and end the worst case imaginable. A novel about bullying but different from many other with the same topic. It is astonishing how well and deeply hitting the reader the author manages to portray Biddy's suffering. Sometimes I had to put away the book because I could not stand it any more - but people in this situation have to live on and somehow survive. What I also find very convincing is how the other characters reacted to the bullying: nobody wants to be the next victim and therefore nobody has the guts to stand in and support.

    Mehr
  • Was ist LovelyBooks?

    Über Bücher redet man gerne, empfiehlt sie seinen Freunden und Bekannten oder kritisiert sie, wenn sie einem nicht gefallen haben. LovelyBooks ist der Ort im Internet, an dem all das möglich ist - die Heimat für Buchliebhaber und Lesebegeisterte. Schön, dass du hier bist! Mehr Infos

    Buchliebe für dein Mailpostfach!

    Hol dir mehr von LovelyBooks