Matthew Costello , Neil Richards Cherringham - A Deadly Confession

(1)

Lovelybooks Bewertung

  • 1 Bibliotheken
  • 0 Follower
  • 0 Leser
  • 1 Rezensionen
(0)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(0)

Inhaltsangabe zu „Cherringham - A Deadly Confession“ von Matthew Costello

Cosy crime series. On the edge of Cherringham lies St. Francis' Convent, home of the Sisters of St. Francis, a small Catholic teaching order. Here a handful of nuns worship, contemplate, and pray. And here one Easter the beloved local priest Father Byrne meets his unexpected demise. The circumstances of the death are suspicious, and soon Jack and Sarah are on the case: what secrets did Father Byrne take to the grave? Who wanted him dead? And is religious faith ever a guarantee of innocence? -- Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the 12 self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. -- For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. -- Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), are known for their script work on major computer games. The Cherringham crime series is their first fictional transatlantic collaboration.
  • Rezensionen
  • Leserunden
  • Buchverlosungen
  • Themen
  • Matthew Costello/Neil Richards - A Deadly Confession

    Cherringham - A Deadly Confession
    miss_mesmerized

    miss_mesmerized

    31. October 2015 um 15:48

    Ein Priester bricht beim Joggen zusammen und ist tot. Ungewöhnlich für einen Marathonläufer, nicht jedoch, wenn dieser bekanntermaßen an einer Herzschwäche litt. Dennoch bittet sein Freund Jack und Sarah, sich den Fall noch einmal anzusehen. Bei der Auswertung der Pulsuhr stellen die beiden Erstaunliches fest: der Tote wurde offenbar nach dem Ableben nochmals bewegt und die Aufzeichnung der Herzschläge weist ebenfalls darauf hin, dass hier etwas nicht stimmt. Im Kloster wird gemauert, aber bald schon muss das Bild des wohltätigen Kirchenmannes revidiert werden: Spielschulden und weitere Geschichten kommen zu Tage und weisen auf mächtige Gegner hin. Der zehnte Teil der Krimiserie konnte dieses Mal weitaus mehr überzeugen als die letzten Episoden, vor allem durch die clevere Auflösung der Ausgangsfrage durch die technischen Daten der Pulsuhr. Insgesamt einmal mehr ein in sich stimmiger Krimi, der sauber und nachvollziehbar gelöst wird und sowohl bei der Figurenzeichnung wie auch bei der Handlung die Erwartung voll erfüllen kann.

    Mehr