Meg Carter The Lies We Tell

(1)

Lovelybooks Bewertung

  • 1 Bibliotheken
  • 0 Follower
  • 0 Leser
  • 1 Rezensionen
(0)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)

Inhaltsangabe zu „The Lies We Tell“ von Meg Carter

The last time Katy saw Jude was on a school trip, when Jude was attacked by a stranger and Katy ran away. Twenty years later, Jude is back, and her reappearance coincides with a series of unsettling incidents: a stranger appears in the downstairs flat; one night Katy’s house is vandalised; her mother is mugged and her home ransacked. And Jude seems to know an uncomfortable amount about Katy’s current life... For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, THE LIES WE TELL is an addictive, complex and completely gripping psychological thriller in which present and past intertwine to devastating effect. Forced to revisit the same rocky waters of friendship and power they inhabited when they were fifteen, as the story reaches its explosive climax, Jude and Katy realise that when it comes to memory, truth and family – nothing and no-one are what they seem.
  • Rezensionen
  • Leserunden
  • Buchverlosungen
  • Themen
  • Meg Carter - The Lies We Tell

    The Lies We Tell
    miss_mesmerized

    miss_mesmerized

    04. October 2015 um 06:41

    Twenty years have passed since last Katy saw Jude. The incident burnt into her brain: the friend was attacked and Katy left her alone and ran away. Now she is back and there are things to be sorted out. At first Katy does not give it too much attention but gradually her life becomes more and more threatened by the old acquaintance and she starts to wonder if she got something wrong from in her memory of that summer. Slowly the past returns and in talking to her family she finds out what was hidden behind masks and changes her life forever. What starts as a slow with minor incidents becomes more thrilling when they are linked and a pattern becomes visible. As Katy unfolds what happened in her youth the reader develops an understanding and being in the advantage of memories from different characters, you soon detect that there was a lot more than the innocent girl assumed. Watching her detect the dyfunctioning of her own family, lies not only she told but also her surrounding and a memory which was adjusted to her own needs, is what makes reading this novel a great fun. The plot is strong and interesting, yet the language sometimes lacks variety and especially the scenes in which Katy and her husband quarrel are weak and annoying. If they are meant to slow down the action and to create suspense, this did not work for me. It might, however, for readers who are into romance and the hardship of marriages. The end, too, was a bit too much to my taste. All in all, a convincing story with an enthralling plot.

    Mehr