Nick Hornby How to Be Good

(78)

Lovelybooks Bewertung

  • 121 Bibliotheken
  • 0 Follower
  • 1 Leser
  • 2 Rezensionen
(14)
(25)
(28)
(10)
(1)

Inhaltsangabe zu „How to Be Good“ von Nick Hornby

How to be Good is Nick Hornby's hilarious bestselling novel on life, love and charity 'I am in a car park in Leeds when I tell my husband I don't want to be married to him any more. . . ' London GP Katie Carr always thought she was a good person. With her husband David making a living as 'The Angriest Man in Holloway', she figured she could put up with anything. Until, that is, David meets DJ Goodnews and becomes a good person too. A far-too-good person who starts committing crimes of charity like taking in the homeless and giving their kids' toys away. Suddenly Katie's feeling very bad about herself, and thinking that if charity begins at home, then maybe its time to move. . . This laugh-out-loud novel, from the bestselling author of About a Boy and High Fidelity, will have you gripped from start to finish and will appeal to fans of David Nicholls and Jonathan Coe, as well as readers in need of a moral compass everywhere. 'Pins you in your armchair ad won't let go . . . How to be Good? How to be bloody marvellous, more like' Mail on Sunday 'It does exactly what it says on the cover. Hornby's prose is artful and effortless, his spiky wit as razored as a number-two cut' Independent 'The writing is so funny, and the set-pieces so brilliant...Hornby's best book since Fever Pitch' Lynn Truss, The Times Nick Hornby has captivated readers and achieved widespread critical acclaim for his comic, well-observed novels About a Boy, A Long Way Down, Juliet, Naked, Slam and High Fidelity. His three works of non-fiction, 31 Songs (shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award), Fever Pitch (winner of the William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award) and The Complete Polysyllabic Spree are also available from Penguin. (Quelle:'E-Buch Text/05.05.2005')

Boring. The main character wasn't my friend. It was okay to read. But I will try another Hornby I guess.

— LeonoraVonToffiefee
LeonoraVonToffiefee
  • Rezensionen
  • Leserunden
  • Buchverlosungen
  • Themen
  • How to be good, Katie Carr?

    How to Be Good
    LeonoraVonToffiefee

    LeonoraVonToffiefee

    21. February 2016 um 14:29

    Katie Carr declares herself as a good person: A hard working doctor, mother of two children and married to David, himself always angry and annoyed. She's thinking about getting divorced after twenty years of marridge when David suddenly changes into an entire different person after he met DJ GoodNews: He's nice and good and cares and DJ GoodNews - some sort of a spiritual healer who just touches peoples with his powers to heal them - moves into their house. Katie thought that's what she wanted - a caring husband. But it's turning out she can't stand him being good. Katie is desperate and annoyed and kind of stuck in her marridge. And she's absolutley annoing by herself. Sometimes I could totally understand her, but sometimes she was just idiotic and selfish. And half of the book she was just runnig in circles around herself forcing everyone to tell her what to do about her husband. In the end she became a bit better but she wasn't my favorite character at all. David - the former angry now nice husband - wasn't much better. His opinions and trys to make the world a better place where quite idiotic and his behaviour torwards his wife sometimes just unacceptable. I wasn't really fond of the characters and the story itself had it's holes: Some parts were just unrealistic and I just can't really understand the whole point of DJ GoodNews the magical healer. I didn't like him as well. The story wasn't very catchy or gripping - some parts where hard to get through. The ending was okay and I was positively surprised how the Events tunred out. I was pleased by the end and make me enjoy the book a bit more. I had some kind of a message and even Katie had her good moments. The book was a bot messy, story and characters not the bests but all in all funny to read with a round ending. I guess I will try another Hornby soon and hope that time he can convince me bit more. The book is fine to read but nothing urgent.

    Mehr
  • Rezension zu "HOW TO BE GOOD" von Nick Hornby

    How to Be Good
    PunkFrog

    PunkFrog

    23. August 2007 um 16:51

    Ich habe das Buch gekauft, weil ich die Thematik interessant fand. Ein Mann, der bekannt ist für seine ständige Wut auf alles mögliche und seine abfälligen Bemerkungen, entscheidet sich plötzlich ein guter Mensch zu sein. Seine Ehefrau, die bisher der Meinung war, sie sei ein guter Mensch, weil sie ja schließlich Ärztin ist, weiss nicht so recht wie sie mit der Situation umgehen soll... Ich persönlich fand das Buch überhaupt nicht lustig und sogar recht frustrierend. Fast keiner der Charaktere war mir sympatisch. Weder der Ehemann, der seine Familie vernachlässigt, beleidigt und verärgert um ein guter Mensch zu sein, noch die Ärztin, die die ganze Zeit sagt: "Ich bin ein guter Mensch denn ich bin Arzt", und sich kaum gegen die Umstände in ihrer Familie wehrt, noch das eine der beiden Kinder, ein kleines Mädchen namens Molly, die ihrem Vater das Gutsein nachmachen will und den andern Leuten ständig unter die Nase reibt wie gut sie doch ist und damit ihren Bruder und ihre Mutter absichtlich in Verlegenheit bringt. Dazu kommen dann noch eine ziemlich überhebliche Arbeitskollegin und ein sehr arroganter Lover... Die einzige Person im Buch, die mir sympatisch war, ist Mollys Bruder, der ständig aggressiv und wütend (meistens aber zurecht) ist. Er spiegelt die Gefühle wieder, die ich hatte, als ich dieses Buch gelesen hab. Ich hab es nur fertig gelesen weil ich dachte, dass zum Schluss alle etwas daraus lernen würden, sich wieder vertragen und wieder halbwegs normale Menschen werden. Aber dem ist natürlich nicht so. Das Buch endet noch frustrierender als es angefangen hat in dem sich (Spoiler) das Paar damit abfindet, dass es in ihrem Leben nichts mehr zu holen gibt und sich entscheidet wenigstens so lange zusammen zu bleiben bis die Kinder groß sind. Vielleicht habe ich den Witz des Buches nicht verstanden, aber wenn jemand was lustiges lesen möchte, würde ich das Buch auf keinen Fall empfehlen.

    Mehr