When a Crocodile Eats the Sun

When a Crocodile Eats the Sun
Bestellen bei:

Zu diesem Buch gibt es noch keine Kurzmeinung. Hilf anderen Lesern, in dem du das Buch bewertest und eine Kurzmeinung oder Rezension veröffentlichst.

Inhaltsangabe zu "When a Crocodile Eats the Sun"

Hailed by reviewers as "powerful," "haunting" and "a tour de force of personal journalism," When A Crocodile Eats the Sun is the unforgettable story of one man's struggle to discover his past and come to terms with his present. Award winning author and journalist Peter Godwin writes with pathos and intimacy about Zimbabwe's spiral into chaos and, along with it, his family's steady collapse. This dramatic memoir is a searing portrait of unspeakable tragedy and exile, but it is also vivid proof of the profound strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.§"In the tradition of Rian Malan and Philip Gourevitch, a deeply moving book about the unknowability of an Africa at once thrilling and grotesque. In elegant, elegiac prose, Godwin describes his father's illness and death in Zimbabwe against the backdrop of Mugabe's descent into tyranny. His parent's waning and the country's deterioration are entwined so that personal and political tragedy become inseparable, each more profound for the presence of the other" -- Andrew Solomon, author of The Noonday Demon§"A fascinating, heartbreaking, deeply illuminating memoir that has the shape and feel of a superb novel." -Kurt Anderson, author of Heydey

Buchdetails

Aktuelle Ausgabe
ISBN:9781770100046
Sprache:Englisch
Ausgabe:Flexibler Einband
Umfang:352 Seiten
Verlag:Picador Africa
Erscheinungsdatum:01.10.2007

Vorfreude! So freuen sich unsere Leser auf das Buch

Rezensionen und Bewertungen

Neu
0 Sterne
Filtern:
  • 5 Sterne0
  • 4 Sterne0
  • 3 Sterne0
  • 2 Sterne0
  • 1 Stern0
  • Sortieren:

    Ähnliche Bücher für noch mehr Lesestunden

    Gespräche aus der Community zum Buch

    Neu

    Starte mit "Neu" die erste Leserunde, Buchverlosung oder das erste Thema.

    Stöbern in Biografien

    Was ist LovelyBooks?

    Über Bücher redet man gerne, empfiehlt sie seinen Freunden und Bekannten oder kritisiert sie, wenn sie einem nicht gefallen haben. LovelyBooks ist der Ort im Internet, an dem all das möglich ist - die Heimat für Buchliebhaber und Lesebegeisterte. Schön, dass du hier bist!

    Mehr Infos

    Buchliebe für dein Mailpostfach

    Hol dir mehr von LovelyBooks