Rhoda Belleza Empress of a Thousand Skies

(4)

Lovelybooks Bewertung

  • 5 Bibliotheken
  • 0 Follower
  • 1 Leser
  • 2 Rezensionen
(0)
(1)
(3)
(0)
(0)

Inhaltsangabe zu „Empress of a Thousand Skies“ von Rhoda Belleza

For fans of Pierce Brown and Firefly comes an epic sci-fi fantasy that Kiersten White, author of And I Darken, calls "dazzling--an adventure as sweeping in scope as the galaxies it spans!” Empress Rhee, also known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.   Fugitive Aly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee, he's forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life.   Madman With planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.   Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy in this exhilarating debut, perfect for readers of Marissa Meyer's Lunar Chronicles and Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman's Illuminae Files.

Ein toller Si-Fi Roman der viele aktuelle Themen anspricht und trotzdem großen Spaß macht,

— KimSlr
KimSlr
  • Rezensionen
  • Leserunden
  • Buchverlosungen
  • Themen
  • Empress of a Thousand Skies - Rhoda Belezza

    Empress of a Thousand Skies
    KimSlr

    KimSlr

    09. April 2017 um 19:50

    Diese Review is auch auf meinem Blog zu finden. I got this book from my very first FairyLoot Box ever and was therefore very excited to start reading! This was also the first Si-Fi Novel I’ve read in a very long time or ever, I’m not sure. To be honest I didn’t expect much when I started this book, because I had nothing to compare it to, but I was really surprised by how much I liked this book. The world this is set in is really interesting and I enjoyed it a lot. The worldbuilding was well done and just detailed enough.The characters were well written and each had their unique personality. The fact that romance took quite the back seat is something I appreciated greatly in this book, because it enabled the author to focus on the plot and the characters. The plot itself was great and the pacing fit very well. But what I enjoyed the most about this book were various issues that were raised within this book that are very current and relatable.  First there was the issue of race, as one of the two main characters is from a subjugated race and while he is a reality TV star as well as a soldier he still is treated differently than his co-star. He is also framed for the murder of the other main character for no other apparent reason than his skin color. And not just that, with the princess ‘dead’ a lot of people want to use the opportunity to re-start a war against this subjugated people. The princess, as well as the reader, suddenly realize, that there are still a lot of prejudices and everything is not as peaceful as it seems.To me this seems very important, because we have two main characters, one who is on the receiving end of a lot of bad prejudice and one who never knew there was a problem and is now made aware of it and is immediately repulsed by it. Another very important issue is  the ‘cubes’ almost everyone has implanted right after birth. With those cubes people are online all the time, they are able to store and replay memories, access the internet, or something akin to it, and stay connected with everyone else. Those cubes make phones or computers useless, because everything can be done via cube.There are some people who choose to remain ‘offline’, whether by not getting a cube implanted to begin with or turning it off most, if not all, the time, and they are regarded as crazy by the rest of the world.On their journey both main characters have to turn their cubes off so they cannot be tracked, or have their memories, feelings or thoughts be used against them. And not only that, it appears as though the government is able to alter not only memories but also ‘ravage’ cubes and turn people into mindless husks or change their personalities.I don’t think I have to mention why this issue is so important in the times we live in. Those issues made an already good book even more important and thought provoking, as well as entertaining. I rated this book four stars and I’m looking forward to the next installment in the series.

    Mehr
  • Fazit: Ganz nett aber ich habe viel mehr erwartet

    Empress of a Thousand Skies
    Saruna

    Saruna

    26. March 2017 um 23:56

    Zum Inhalt Rhees ist die einzige überlebende der Herrschers Dynastie und hat ihr halbes Leben dafür trainiert Rache zu üben, an denjenigen die schuld am Tod ihrer Familie sind.   Aly ist der Held einer DroneVision Show und gerät urplötzlich in einen Mordkomplott.   Beide müssen fliehen und werden gesucht und beide müssen sie herausfinden, dass das was sie als wahr glaubten, gar nicht wahr ist und nur sie sind in der Lage diesen Komplott zu enttarnen.   Zum Cover Wow! Also wäre dieses Buch nicht in meiner Fairyloot Box gewesen, hätte ich es garantiert wegen diesem atemberaubenden Cover gekauft!   Zum Schreibstil Ich habe zwei Anläufe bei diesem Buch gebraucht. Zuerst hatte ich enorm Mühe. Es fängt sehr technisch an und meiner Meinung nach waren es auch zu viele Informationen. Ich habe dann das Buch zur Seite gelegt und zwei Wochen später nochmal aufgegriffen und siehe da, dieses mal hatte ich keine Mühen mehr.   Die Kapitel wechseln sich ab, einmal von Rhee und dann wieder von Alyosha. Beide aus der dritten Person. Jedes Kapitel hört in einem Mini Cliffhanger auf, sodass man eigentlich lieber bei diesem Charakter weiterlesen würde. Nachdem man aber wieder beim jeweiligen Kapitel angelangt ist, muss man feststellen, das das Problem bereits gelöst wurde, die Gefahr gebannt, den schreck überwunden… das zieht sich ziemlich so fort und das hat mich sehr gestört.   Persönliche Meinung Wie bereits beim Schreibstil angemerkt, störte mich diese mini Cliffhanger die dann einfach übergangen wurden extrem. Der Charakter stürzt mit dem Raumschiff gerade auf einen Planeten zu? dann ist er im nächsten Kapitel bereits 10km weiter. Hat überlebt und wahrscheinlich auch noch ein paar Gegner besiegt.  Schade, schade.   Ausserdem wurde mir das Buch als Arya Stark meets Lunar Chronicles beschrieben, aber dass Rhee nun wie Arya Stark sein soll.. naja. Aber ein bisschen Lunar Chronicles Feeling kam tatsächlich auf.   Interessant war die Tatsache das bis kurz vor Schluss keine Romantik/Liebesgeschichte vorkommt! Und auch das wenige dass dann vorkommt ist gleich Null.   Mir waren die Charaktere allerdings nicht sonderlich sympathisch. Am meisten mochte ich Rhees, aber wirklich überzeugen konnte keiner. Der Funken ist einfach nicht gesprungen.   Versteht mich nicht falsch, das Buch ist gut, wer gerne Science Fiction und Rachefeldzüge, Verrat und Intrigen hat und keine Schnulzigen Liebesgeschichten mag, der kann hier sicherlich auf seine Kosten kommen… aber ich fand es leider nur gut und nicht sehr gut oder mega.   Fazit: Ganz nett aber ich habe viel mehr erwartet  

    Mehr