Sarah Ahiers Assassin's Heart

(5)

Lovelybooks Bewertung

  • 2 Bibliotheken
  • 1 Follower
  • 0 Leser
  • 2 Rezensionen
(0)
(3)
(2)
(0)
(0)

Inhaltsangabe zu „Assassin's Heart“ von Sarah Ahiers

With shades of Game of Thrones and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a tale of love, lies, and vengeance. Fans of Kristin Cashore and Rae Carson will devour the flawlessly crafted action and inventive world building.Seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana is a trained assassin. She was born into one of the nine clipper Families in the kingdom of Lovero who lawfully take lives for a price. As a member of the highest-ranking clan, loyalty to Family is valued above all, but that doesn't stop Lea from getting into a secret relationship with Val Da Via, a boy from a rival clan. Despite her better judgment, Lea has fallen in love with him; but she's confident she can anticipate any threat a mile away.Then she awakens one night to a house full of smoke. Although she narrowly escapes, she isn't able to save her Family as their home is consumed by flames. With horror, she realizes that Val and his Family are the only ones who could be responsible. Devastated over his betrayal and the loss of her clan, there's just one thing on her mind: making the Da Vias pay. The heart of this assassin craves revenge.

Leider hält das Buch nicht, was die Inhaltsangabe verspricht.

— Nicks
  • Rezensionen
  • Leserunden
  • Buchverlosungen
  • Themen
  • Ein Fantasyroman über Assassine

    Assassin's Heart

    Laralarry

    17. March 2016 um 14:22

    Inhalt: In the kingdom of Lovero, nine rival Families of assassins lawfully kill people for a price. As a highly skilled member of one of these powerful clans, seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana has always trusted in the strength of her Family. Until she awakens to find them murdered and her home in flames. The Da Vias, the Saldanas’ biggest enemy, must be responsible—and Lea should have seen it coming. But her secret relationship with the Da Vias’ son, Val, has clouded her otherwise killer instinct—and given the Da Vias more reason than ever to take her Family down. Racked with guilt and shattered over Val’s probable betrayal, Lea sets out to even the score, with her heart set on retaliation and only one thought clear in her mind: make the Da Vias pay. Rezension: Lange habe ich auf diesen Roman gewarteten, da es unter vielen amerikanischen Buchbloggern einen gewissen Hype genießt. Das Genre ist High Fantasy beziehungsweise Young Adult und obwohl ich lange kein High Fantasy mehr gelesen habe, hat mich der Klappentext direkt angesprochen. Es hat mich ein wenig an Throne of Glass erinnert, auch wenn mir dieses nicht so gefallen hat, ist mein Interesse an Assassinen ungebrochen. Assassin's Heart kann mit einem innovativen Worldbuilding und einer starken Protagonistin überzeugen. Jedoch habe ich mir gerade bei solch hohen Erwartungen überwiegend die negativen Aspekte des Romans gemerkt. Logikfehler finden sich gerade im Genre High Fantasy zu Hauf und finde ich auch meistens nicht störend, aber Assassines Heart weißt einige Fehler auf, die das gute Worldbuilding überschattet haben. Die Assassine tragen im Roman Masken, doch nirgendwo wird erklärt, wozu diese dienen. Die Funktion einer Maske wie wir sie kennen, ist ja die Unkenntlichkeit des Trägers, aber im Buch lernt jeder Assassine schon als Kind die Masken einer Person zuzuordnen, um diese erkennen zu können. Ich sehe keinen Sinn darin, wenn sowieso jeder weiß, wer sich hinter welcher Maske verbirgt. Nun zum System der neuen Assassine-Familien, dass sich natürlich sehr nach Mafia anhört, aber theoretisch hätten sich die Familien doch längst umbringen müssen. Es wird im Buch deutlich, dass einige dieser Familien freundschaftlich miteinander umgehen, aber die Rivalitäten überwiegen, schließlich gibt es eine Hierarchy nach der sich die Familien richten müssen. Im Grunde genommen hätten sich die ersten beiden Familien, die Sardanas und Da Vias schön längst umbringen müssen, so sehr Rivalität herrscht zwischen den beiden. Nun zu einem Thema, dass wohl sehr subjektiv bewertet wird, Religion. In Assassin's Heart spielt Religion eine übergeordnete Rolle, da jedes Land, manchmal sogar jede Stadt einem anderen Gott folgt, der auch tatsächlich existiert. Aber ich lese ungern über Religion in einem Fantasyroman und finde es generell etwas überflüssig für einen Roman über Assassine. Dies sind aber solch geringe Störfaktoren, dass sie mir während des Lesens kaum aufgefallen sind. Das Buch hat so viel mehr positive Aspekte, wie die Originalität der Figuren zu bieten. Lea und Les bilden für mich ein tolles Team und auch wenn ich Val nicht mochte, ist er wohl ein ambivalenter Antagonist und als Figur großartig. Ich konnte mir beim Lesen die Welt, in der die Figuren leben, richtiggehend vorstellen und habe mich zu keinem Zeitpunkt gelangweilt. Insbesondere das Ende war erfreulich, denn man liest nicht von dem typischen Cliffhanger, die Geschichte wirkt fast abgeschlossen. Es ist jedoch bekannt, dass es einen zweiten Band geben wird. Fazit: Dieser High-Fantasy-Roman konnte mich überzeugen, auch wenn die Meinungen auseinandergehen. Ich freue mich schon auf den zweiten Band und mehr von Les und Lea zu lesen. Lieb gemeinte 3,5 Sterne

    Mehr
  • Rache ist Herzenssache

    Assassin's Heart

    Nicks

    29. February 2016 um 13:59

    Murder. Rivaling families, Forbidden love. Italian setting. I guess I should´ve guessed it from the title. It´s Assassin´s Heart, not A Heart´s Assassin. Therefore, what started out so beautifully endearing turned into a disappointment very soon. I would´ve been okay with it if I had expected a romance novel. Instead I wanted thoughts of vengeance, tons of bad decisions due to a heart full of darkness and emotional crippling due to a broken, yet desiring heart. Only problem is that my hopes weren´t met. Assassin´s Heart really tries to be an action-filled, morally twisting and intriguing novel. It just doesn´t pull it off, because every five steps Lea gets distracted by thoughts about a boy. It could´ve been so good if it would´ve stayed on the Godfather path. But the moment Alessio appears and the gods-damned love triangle throws itself in the reader´s face it´s over for real. Val´s and Lea´s relationship alone would´ve had the potential for something epic. A intriguing mix of Romeo and Juliet and Mr. & Mrs. Smith. A lot of entertainment and the opportunity of endless conflicts. A lot to test a young love. I would´ve liked that a lot more than the actual plot. Which, speaking of, although nice in the beginning and with the right ideas galloping off in the wrong direction, quickly was overshadowed by a lot of running left, right, into the same people and away until said people appeared again. Lea may had a plan and a direction, but the execution is really lacking some brains. And while I usually miss the feeling of loss with characters who´s family died tragically, I wasn´t content with Lea´s thoughts either. Although she mentions her family quite often it almost always felt like she did so on her behalf. It seemed like she thought about them because she´s expected to, while she´d rather swoon over guys or complain about people and life. Assassin´s Heart is a bit like Cher Horowitz once said. From far away, it´s ok, but up close, it´s a big old mess. 

    Mehr
  • Was ist LovelyBooks?

    Über Bücher redet man gerne, empfiehlt sie seinen Freunden und Bekannten oder kritisiert sie, wenn sie einem nicht gefallen haben. LovelyBooks ist der Ort im Internet, an dem all das möglich ist - die Heimat für Buchliebhaber und Lesebegeisterte. Schön, dass du hier bist! Mehr Infos

    Buchliebe für dein Mailpostfach!

    Hol dir mehr von LovelyBooks