The House: The brilliantly tense and terrifying thriller with a shocking twist - whose story do you believe?

von Simon Lelic 
4,0 Sterne bei1 Bewertungen
The House: The brilliantly tense and terrifying thriller with a shocking twist - whose story do you believe?
Bestellen bei:

Zu diesem Buch gibt es noch keine Kurzmeinung. Hilf anderen Lesern, in dem du das Buch bewertest und eine Kurzmeinung oder Rezension veröffentlichst.

Auf der Suche nach deinem neuen Lieblingsbuch? Melde dich bei LovelyBooks an, entdecke neuen Lesestoff und aufregende Buchaktionen.

Inhaltsangabe zu "The House: The brilliantly tense and terrifying thriller with a shocking twist - whose story do you believe?"

'HUGELY GRIPPING AND SPOOKY AS HELL' Mark Billlingham The heart-stopping thriller about a husband and wife who are hiding something from each other, and from you...This book won't let you go until you've found out the truth. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Gillian Flynn and Fiona Barton. Whose story do YOU believe? Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year ago. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it. So when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake. Because someone has just been murdered outside their back door. AND NOW THE POLICE ARE WATCHING THEM. 'AN INTRICATE AND POWERFUL THRILLER' Tana French 'TAUGHT, TENSE AND TERRIFYING, I LOVED IT' Sharon Bolton 'O.M.G . I just devoured this gem...Perfect execution of a psychological thriller right here.' Reader review 'Brilliant. This is how I like my psychological thrillers. Clever, twisted and unexpected.' Reader review 'Hooked from page one! I started this book last night and couldn't put it down.' Reader review 'Lelic can plot like a demon' Guardian 'A brilliantly tense and shocking thriller. I literally couldn't put it down!' Nuala Ellwood, author of My Sister's Bones 'Really creepy and clever. I loved it.' Julia Crouch 'This terrifying thriller sent shivers through me' Jane Corry, author of My Husband's Wife 'An intriguing and suspenseful read' Cath Staincliffe 'Brilliantly dark and gripping...Plays on the fundamental fear that the building blocks of our existence - home, relationships, family - may not be as secure as we like to think' Thomas Mogford 'Creepy and totally gripping. A real page-turner. I loved it' Claire McGowan 'Absorbing, convincing and truly frightening ' The Times 'Powerful... A gripping, disturbing read' Marie Claire 'One of the genre's rising stars' Metro 'A writer to whom attention must be paid' Independent 'Electrifying' The New York Times

Buchdetails

Aktuelle Ausgabe
ISBN:9780241296554
Sprache:Englisch
Ausgabe:E-Buch Text
Umfang:342 Seiten
Verlag:Penguin
Erscheinungsdatum:17.08.2017

Rezensionen und Bewertungen

Neu
4 Sterne
Filtern:
  • 5 Sterne0
  • 4 Sterne1
  • 3 Sterne0
  • 2 Sterne0
  • 1 Stern0
  • Sortieren:
    miss_mesmerizeds avatar
    miss_mesmerizedvor einem Jahr
    Simon Lelic - The House

    Finding a house in London is more or less impossible; therefore, Sydney and Jack are happy when they finally get one. It is not what they have dreamt of, but, with the time, they became realistic about what is possible and accepted the offer. Soon after they move in, strange things start to happen and they become more and more alert: is the house haunted or is somebody playing tricks on them? Is it because they interfered with the neighbour? His daughter confided herself in Sydney and awoke bad memories in her: just like Betsi, Sydney was suffering under her father’s temper and violence throughout her childhood. Unable to find help, she ran away at the age of 14 and left her younger sister with the situation at home alone. A bad conscience makes Sydney support the young neighbour, but obviously, her father is going to stop this. Or is the threat coming from somewhere completely different? No matter what is behind, soon Sydney and Jack find themselves in danger and even start losing faith in each other.


    Simon Lelic’s novel starts a bit as a surprise, it’s not the typical third person narrator we have, but a kind of diary entries or letters that the two protagonists write to each other. So we have Jack’s and Sydney’s perspective in alternation which makes it quite lively and authentic, especially since you get the impression of the highly stressful situation they are in and which has gone out of control. The way they write reflects their emotional state, it is repetitive, not well organised and thought through but rather like a stream of consciousness just coming out of their mouth.


    The plot itself has many surprises to offer, at first you are with the protagonists, not knowing what is happening and always trying to make sense of what they write. Then, slowly, you realise that Sydney and Jack have hidden some useful and important information from you, too, and you start getting sceptical about actually trusting them. As the novel moves on, you have to adjust your idea of the characters and the action again and again which I liked a lot since you could never feel absolutely secure about it.


    “The House” really deserves the label “thriller”. Quite often, you feel a cold shiver running down your spine when again something strange happens in the house. The characters’ actions are all credibly motivated and the plot itself is convincingly constructed. The strongest aspect for me was the psychological construction behind the story; knowing what Sydney went through, you can understand her reaction when she finds out about Betsi’s life at home. But also Sydney’s mother – even though she is a rather tragic figure – can be understood in her way of behaving. So, the novel is not just playing on your nerves with a thrilling plot, but also offer some insight in emotionally induced actions and decisions.

    Kommentieren0
    1
    Teilen

    Gespräche aus der Community zum Buch

    Neu

    Starte mit "Neu" die erste Leserunde, Buchverlosung oder das erste Thema.

    Was ist LovelyBooks?

    Über Bücher redet man gerne, empfiehlt sie seinen Freunden und Bekannten oder kritisiert sie, wenn sie einem nicht gefallen haben. LovelyBooks ist der Ort im Internet, an dem all das möglich ist - die Heimat für Buchliebhaber und Lesebegeisterte. Schön, dass du hier bist!

    Mehr Infos

    Buchliebe für dein Mailpostfach

    Hol dir mehr von LovelyBooks